Release.

There were a couple of reasons why I tried yoga, & neither of them had anything to do with the kind of personal and emotional growth that I have gained (and continue to benefit from) since that first class 7 years ago. I am a very emotional person, and feel the extremes of joy, anger, and sorrow very deeply. Yoga has taught me how to harness my emotions, live in the moment, and then, most importantly, let them go. I.e., not to deny my feelings, positive or negative, nor dwell on them and keep bitterness in my heart.

One profound moment was during a practice of 108 sun salutations we were doing in honour of the fall equinox. Our instructor identified an intention of forgiveness for our practice. At the time, I was going through a lot of emotional turmoil in my personal life, and was really down on myself. In the midst of that practice, I learned to forgive those who have hurt me, and also to forgive myself. I was beating myself up for making the choices that brought me to situation that was causing me pain. Without my yoga practice to guide me, I never would have learned how important it was to forgive myself.

Leave a Reply

