Bad/good habits.

They say it takes 21 days to form a habit. One of my goals of this month-long yoga program was to successfully integrate a regular home yoga practice in to my routine.

Well, I’m on Day 23 and I think I’ve done it! I’d like to complete this final week of the program before saying for sure (don’t want to jinx it, yo), but I think I’ve done it. Yay me. And yay yoga!!

The first week was a challenge, especially in the mornings. I was already getting up quite early to go to the gym a few times a week, and I looked forward to the off-gym days to get that extra half hour of sleep.

I came up with an easy fix: instead of snoozing when my alarm went off, I got up and did yoga instead. So simple, yet so hard. I have been a notorious alarm snooze-r for many decades now, setting it 20 to 30 mins in advance of the time I actually wanted to get up. Now, I’m using that time to wake my body and mind up slowly with my breath and yoga, instead of dragging my groggy ass out of bed to get ready for work in a fog.

Wow-ee wow wow. What a difference that has made. The funny part was, once I got used to this morning awakening practice, I found myself acting that much more perky in the mornings, and I think I was scaring some of my co-workers away. So I dialed that down a bit.

While most people know me for my love of yoga, it was a personal struggle for me to do it more regularly. I had a lot of non-yoga days in between my yoga days, and I wanted to bridge that gap. I also found it very challenging to practice at home. These videos from Tara Stiles have been heaven-sent! Most of her videos on YouTube are only 5-10 minutes long, which is so much easier to fit in on a daily basis. Otherwise, I was only doing an hour and a half long class once or twice a week (if that!).

What a joy to revel in this new habit, and break old, bad ones.

Leave a Reply

