Ch-ch-ch-chia!

My new favourite breakfast: chia seed pudding! Why, you ask? Because it’s vegan! No, I’m not becoming a vegan, but I often have to pursue vegan alternatives to dairy due to my lactose intolerance (but I can still eat butter and cheddar cheese, thanktheheavensabove!) I hated having to admit to myself that I couldn’t eat Greek yogurt anymore since it’s the greatest thing since scliced bread, so finding out about chia seed pudding was a great discovery.

Yes, I’m talking about the same chia seeds that are used in everyone’s fave 80’s kitsch product, Chia Pets! But they aren’t just for your fuzzy green terracotta friends anymore. Chia seeds are chock full of omega-3 fatty acids, fibre, protein, minerals, antioxidants, calcium, and other super things (hence it being dubbed the new superfood.) By combining them with nut milk and fruit, I’ve been able to find a worthwhile substitute for yogurt or cottage cheese, and the extra bonus is that they contain so much more good stuff than either of those dairy products!

In case you’re curious, here’s my basic chia seed pudding recipe:

  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup fruit (I prefer berries, peaches, or mango)

Stir all ingredients together and leave for at least 10 mins, but overnight is best. You need to let the seeds soak the liquid in to reach their gelatinous state, which thickens the mixture. My rule of thumb is to use a 1 tbsp seeds to 1/2 cup liquid ratio.

I also put a couple of tablespoons of chia seeds in my green smoothies. They add a nice textural element to the smooviness.

So easy, so yummy, and so good for you!

Leave a Reply

