Reflect.

Practicing up at the lake this past weekend, I was brought back to the moment where I first found my practice 8 years ago: an outdoor yoga class on a cruise line’s private beach in Haiti on the Caribbean Sea. I’d tried yoga before, but was too distracted by own inflexibility and how ridiculous the Sankskrit names of the poses sounded to me that I could not take it seriously. I’m not sure what it was that day on the beach that changed things for me, but I felt something completely different while doing those poses. Was I shedding the old me and revealing a new me by holding those poses? Or were the yoga poses an expression of my true self? Either way, it gave me a taste of what I could accomplish, with nothing but a mat and my open mind to guide me.

Leave a Reply

